Favorite Children’s Books

Green Eggs and Ham
I love majority of the books written by Dr. Seuss because of his unique choice of words and his make-believe rhyming words. I love this particular book because not only of the rhyming words and the beautiful illustrations but the meaning behind the book itself. All of Dr. Seuss books have rhyming in them even if the words do not make since but it keeps the children engaged because of the crazy words. Dr.Seuss came up with creative ways to try to get Sam I Am to try something new that he has never eaten. “Would you eat them in a box? Would you eat them with a fox?” Sam I am finally gave in and said that he would try them if he would stop asking him to eat the green eggs and ham. To Sam’s surprise he actually ended up liking green eggs and ham. The moral of the story is to never say that you do not like something when you have not given it a try first.
brwn
What child does not like Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? I love this book as well because not only does it teach the children colors and different animals, it teaches them to use their imagination. The pictures are so vibrant and colorful and it gets and keeps your attention throughout the book. It is also a great learning tool because, the children learn repetition through this book. By the time the story is over or even while reading the book, you will hear the children saying brown bear, brown bear, what do you see? or any of the other animals they may hear. I just love the creativeness of the whole book. The children can act out the different noises that the animals make as well. I love this book and my son has this book in his bookshelf. He loves the book as well.
3 thoughts on “Favorite Children’s Books

  1. My daughter LOVES Dr. Seuss! I think I have read that book to her over a million times and she’s only 2! I must admit that as a child, I enjoyed reading his books as well. It was very funny that Sam seemed so irritated throughout the story when he was asked to try green eggs and ham. I definitely agree that before a person states that they dislike something they should at least take that first step to try it.

    Like

  2. Dr. Seuss is one of my favorites. His stories always have a wonderful meaning behind them. Your right, never say that you don’t like something without trying it. This past week we celebrated Green Eggs and Ham by making them and as the story says try them. Everyone did and the children were surprised that they liked them.

    Like

  3. I am a huge fan of Dr.Seuss! At my center, we have our meals supplied by a food plan, and encourage family style dining with our kids. Lots of the children are extremely picky eaters, so we try and use this story as a way to get them to try new foods. It doesn’t work all the time, but it does push the kids to at least try. Plus, all the kids think Sam is the coolest person ever,(besides Cat in The Hat, and Dora) so they will try to be like Sam. My four year niece LOVES this book and has become an open eater.

    Like

Leave a Reply

