Examining Codes of Conduct

The Division for Early Childhood (DEC)

Responsive Family Centered Practices

7. We should be responsible for protecting the confidentiality of the children and families we serve by protecting all forms of verbal, written, and electronic communications.

This ideal is significant to my professional life because this is something that I deal with on a daily basis. It is important to keep the children and families information private and out of the opening for everyone else to see. Even though they are not there in person, their files are private and should not violated in any way. On my job we stress confidentiality among the staff and the parents as well.  I am in charge of making sure that every child’s folder is up to date as far as shot records, parent’s phone numbers and other private information. I also keep track of the staff’s files as well. As a professional I know not to take the information that I learn about the child, their parents or other staff members and talk about them to someone else. Even when it comes down to writing incident reports and talking to parents. They get all upset and want to know what child hit their child and who the parents are so they can talk to them about their child. I let the parents know on the spot that as part of the confidentiality policy we have, I can not and will not disclose any information on the child or the child’s parent information but I can tell you that  everything is fine. We cannot be giving out information about our families because it is unprofessional and unethical and not acceptable.

NAEYC Code of Ethical Conduct and Statement of Commitment

Ethical Responsibilities to Children

Ideal 1-1.3- To recognize and respect the unique qualities, abilities, and potential of each child.

It is important to teach each child according to their abilities and potential. In my class I have about two students that can write their name while I have others that can barely grasp a pencil or trace the letters that I have written for them. I try to teach each child according to their abilities and what I know that they can achieve. For those that are on a higher level, I prepare more work for them and those that are younger or less developed, I make sure that I work with them so that they are able to understand the work. I believe that every child is unique and everyone does not learn the same way. By me having a small  class, I am able to give each child one on one time to find their strengths, weaknesses, qualities, abilities and potential and provide work and services for them accordingly. I respect each child in my class and I encourage them even when they are struggling to do the work right, but I praise them for making an effort. I take into consideration each child’s background as well and the parents involvement in their education.

Ethical Responsibilities to Families

Ideal 1-2.3- To welcome all family members and encourage them to participate in the program.

I feel that it is essential that the parents stay involved as to what is going on the center or school that their child is attending so that they are familiar as to what is going on in the program. At the center that I work at, we have an open door policy. The parents are welcomed  to come in and check on their child and sit in on the class to see what their child is learning and how they interact in the class. We also encourage the parents to come and participate when we do celebrations on holidays such as Christmas, Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and many other holidays. We also send home newsletters every month to let them know what their child will be learning and what the field trip is for that month. Even in letting the parents know all of these things they still make little to no effort to come and see about their child and what the center has to offer. We encourage our parents to work with their child at home as well so that the child will be familiar and ready when they come to class.

Resources

NAEYC. (2005, April). Code of ethical conduct and statement of commitment. Retrieved May 26, 2010, from
http://www.naeyc.org/files/naeyc/file/positions/PSETH05.pdf

The Division for Early Childhood. (2000, August). Code of ethics. Retrieved May 26, 2010, from
http://www.dec-sped.org/

5 thoughts on “Examining Codes of Conduct

  1. Dionna, I love the ideas that you chose! My favorite was Ideal 1-1.3- To recognize and respect the unique qualities, abilities, and potential of each child. That is so true! No two children are alike. I think this is such a hot topic in education right now with all the testing. I wish government/ higher ups would embrace this ideal, because children are not reaching their true potential.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Dionna,

    I can relate to the ideas that you choose. It is so important to recognize children’s abilities and help them reach their fullest potential. I love the fact that you work with children individually to help them succeed in class. Parent involvement is so important to both the child and teacher. It is unfortunate that not all families are actively involved in their child’s school and education.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dionna
    I enjoyed reading the ideals that you chose. My favorite one was the responsibilities to families. I agree that it is very essential that parents stay involved with their children in the classroom. I firmly believe that if an educator and parent have a great partnership for the child, the child will have a better chance to succeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dionna,
    Thanks so much for all of your wonderful blog posts. I have really been inspired by the stories of your family members. Thanks you for sharing. It has been really nice to see the perspective of someone else in the same field as me. Good luck in all you do.
    Shana

    Like

  5. Dionna
    Thanks so much for sharing your opinions and ideas. I enjoyed commenting and viewing all of your posts. I wish you well throughout your professional journey. Good luck and God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

