Relationship Reflection

Developing and maintaining healthy relationships between family, friends, co-workers, and colleagues can be difficult sometimes due to people busy schedule, or even where people may live. It is good to have a relationship or partnership in your personal and professional life. In a professional relationship it is vital that co-workers get along and can depend on one another for moral support and help. In a personal relationship it is important for loved ones to be there for one another in their time of happiness, joy, pain and/or sorrow to have someone to talk to.

Relationships are important to me because growing up I really did not have that strong, healthy and positive relationship with my biological mother and my siblings. I always wanted to establish that relationship with her and it happened about a couple of years before she passed away in 2013. Within our relationship I was able to talk to her about anything ranging from church, school or marriage. She always had encouraging words to give to me to make me feel better. I miss being able to talk to her about things because I feel like I have no one else whom I can talk too. I have six siblings and I love them all dearly but I have one brother who I connect with the most or have a more healthy relationship with. I love all my siblings but we have a better bond and connection than everyone else. Although he lives in Florida, I talk to him more than I talk to the ones who live in the same city as I do. We talk about our families, God and church, our jobs and finances. My brother Matthew is my brother whom I love and adore and miss very much.

ma d 2                                                                                 matt

My Mother Dorethea Dobson                                                                               My Brother Matthew

R.I.P

Positive Relationships 

I have a great relationship with my husband, son and my god mom Rachel. I have been married to my husband for almost 13 years and we have been through some ups and downs and still are being faced with obstacles in our lives. He has been my backbone and support throughout my life. We met in high school and he has been there for me every since. I was in foster care when we met but that did not stop our love for one another. He is truly an amazing person. He is someone who I can talk to about my day at work, problems with my health and he is my biggest supporter in me going back to school to get my Master’s. What has kept our relationship strong is our faith in God, communication, trustworthiness and loyalty to one another.

.             My Husband Eric and son Quez 20150221_095322

My son is my pride and joy and he means everything to me. I love the relationship that we have because I am able to give him that unconditional love that I was lacking when I was a child. He keeps me going and puts a smile on my face and warms my heart when he comes to me out of the blue and says “Mommy, I love you.” He is my motivation and inspiration to be a better person in life. Although he may be young in age he is still a reason as to why I am the way I am today.

My Son Marquez AKA “Turbo”

414                            590                                    344

My godmother Rachel is a very bright, intelligent and wonderful woman. I have known her for almost twenty years. She has always been there for me through thick and thin. She has always encouraged me to do better and be better in life. From the beginning she has always treated me as though I was one of her own. I can call on her anytime and just talk to her about anything. The relationship that we have can never be broken. We may not talk all the time but not a day goes by where I do not receive a text from her telling me that she loves me and how proud of me she is. I try to text her every morning to tell her that I love her and for her to have a blessed day. I call her ma and she has been nothing but supportive of me going back to school as well. I told her that I do not think that I can make it trying to get my Master’s and that I wanted to give up and quit. She told me that “Quitting is not an option and that I can not give up.” I found strength in her words. What helps us to maintain our relationship is the love and bond that we have with one another. I love her just as if she was my mother. I do things for her, when she is down and out I lift her spirit.

My godmom Rachel

ma rachel

Insights

Challenges to developing and maintaining relationships that I have experienced over time would be communication, not passing judgment or being bias towards someone and establishing a rapport with families, friends and loved ones.  When developing relationships it is easy to pass judgment on someone just by the way they look or who they associate themselves with. As professionals it is important to make all families feel welcomed regardless of race, ethnicity, religion, or SES background. I have also learned that in personal and professional relationships that communication is the key to keep a relationship healthy.

Special characteristics of relationships that can make a partnership would be being supportive and open to new ideas from others. Working together and collaborating on different ideas to run a smooth and successful class with the child being the focus of attention.

As an early childhood professional I have learned to treat people as to how I would like to be treated. I like to be treated with respect and not pushed to the side and being judged by others. I have learned that no matter what I may be going through that I need to put my differences to the side in order to be that effective early childhood professional that I am more than capable of being. My experiences has taught me that there are going to be rough patches but working together and not against one another will make going through the rough patches together a lot smoother.

11 thoughts on “Relationship Reflection

  1. Dionna,
    I’m so happy that you were able to find some positive relationship despite the hard times you experience in your life. As professionals we must make sure to treat everyone equal although we might not agree with their ethnics and cultural.

    Like

  2. Dionna,

    Such a wonderful post and such a beautiful family. I am also glad that you had positive people and relationships in your life during whatever troubles you had to face – you didn’t have to do it alone which makes you feel just a little bit better. I believe in living by the rule, “Treat others the same way you would want to be treated.” You have to think about that at times when you find yourself not being yourself, lol.

    Like

    • Britney,
      Thank you. I am grateful as well that God placed these special people and many more in my life to help me along the way. I constantly remind myself that God is with me and that He will never leave nor forsake me. If everyone else leaves me He will always be by my side. I always try to treat people with respect because that is how I want to be treated.

      Like

  3. Dionna,
    I agree relationship can be hard to maintain sometimes. Yes, it is important to have a relationship with the ones you love. I agree you should treat people the way you want to be treated. It doesn’t work that way all the time but that shouldn’t stop you from doing what is right. I am divorce but I have met a man who I can say is a blessing to have in my life.

    Like

    • Tasha,
      Yes relationships can be hard to maintain sometimes but that is when you are to work together and do things as a team in order to keep the peace in the relationship. No we are not going to always be treated as we would like to be treated but we have to make the best of any situation. I always say when life throws you lemons, make some lemonade. I am sorry to hear that you are divorced but happy that you have found someone that is a blessing for you and to you in your life.

      Like

  4. Dionna

    Your post was beautiful. Family is so important and it is imperative that we maintain healthy relationships with family because when things happen in our lives you can’t depend on friends but family will always have your back. As educators we can help families by building healthy relationships. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    • Haneefa,
      Thank you. Family is important and it is true that your family will always have your back no matter what. Friends may come and go but family will always be there. Yes we can help families by building healthy relationships through showing them that they are our main concern and that we are there for them and the well being of their child.

      Like

  5. Dionna,
    I loved reading about your family! How amazing that you and your husband have been together that long! I only hope I can find someone who loves me that much!! Your son is absolutely precious!

    Like

    • Tara,
      Thank you. Yes we have made it this far by the grace of God and we got married at an early age but nevertheless we are still here. Trust me it has not been easy and we have had our share of ups and downs but what relationship does not? That special one will find you one day, just keep holding on and be patient and God will send you your knight or handsome prince.

      Like

Leave a Reply

