“My Supports”

Family is not always about blood, sometimes it’s about who is there to hold your hand and support you, when you need them!  ~ Author Unknown

There are many people and factors that play a vital role in my life as far as support but I give reference to God first. I am a Christian and a firm believer in God and Jesus Christ. God is my creator and my foundation in life and it is in Him that I have placed my faith and trust. I know that if it was not for Jesus, I would not be where I am today. God has been placing a shield of protection around me throughout my life. I know that it is by God’s grace and mercy that I have made it this far in my life. Jesus provides support for me daily, allowing me to wake up in my right mind to see another beautiful and blessed day. He is my support because of my faith and trust in Him. Jesus said that He will never leave nor forsake us and I am a witness to that. God has been with me my whole life, through the good and the bad as well as the heartaches and pain. All glory and honor goes to Him because if God was not in my life I would not be where I am today. I come from a family who were raised in church, and even in all three of my foster homes, we went to church. If God was to take His angels from around me and left me alone, I would be lost, alone, and confused.

Yes my family has been a great support for me but since my mother passed my husband has been the one there for me whenever I needed him. He is my financial support, and emotional support. God has placed him in my life for a reason and I thank Him daily for my husband.  When I need money to pay my personal bills, he gives me the money with no problem. He has been supportive of me going back to school. He often tells me how smart I am, even though sometimes I doubt myself. He never says anything negative about me spending so much time reading, researching, studying and doing homework. He is also there for me when I am having a really bad day from work or being stressed, and he gives me encouraging words to help lift my spirit. He has also helped me in budgeting my money more wisely to be able to keep money in my pocket versus splurging it on unnecessary things that I do not need. It would be difficult not to have the support of my husband because he has always been there for me.  Also if I did not have him as a form of support then I would be struggling financially, and emotionally.  The impact that my life would have without my husband would be chaotic and I probably would not be able to keep going to school being that he is one of the few who has been supporting me.

My job is another factor that supports me because if it was not for my job I would not have money to pay any of my bills, take care of my family, buy groceries or anything for that matter. I thank God that I am able to work and have a job because for some reason it is hard to find or get a job. My job enables me to help better myself, it teaches me daily on having patience especially when working with children. Although my husband helps me out financially, so does my job. I am the type of person who likes to be independent and make my own money. My job allows me to do what I love to do, which is work with children, and make my own money at the same time.

A big challenge for me would be completing school and getting my Master’s. Every course I feel like I am not going to make it because the work seems like it is a lot and I be stressing on not doing the work right. I work full time and I am a mother of a very busy soon to be six year old little boy who is in flag football, soccer, basketball, track, and Tae Kwon Do. I often tell my god-mom who is a graduate from Walden, that I want to quit and she tells me that quitting is not an option and that she will not allow me to quit. My husband keeps telling me that I can do it and that I am smart enough to do the work. Have them as my supports helps me to push myself a little farther. Then I look at my son and when he sees me pushing to do my school work it motivates him to do his work.  Without having the different support, my life would be a complete mess and I would not be where I am today. It is because of God’s grace and mercy and the ability to strive and do better in life that I am pursuing my Master’s Degree. The potential benefit of these supports would be me earning my Master’s Degree and becoming a better professional, so that I will be able to provide parents and children with better services in my own program. Having these supports has been a positive impact because they have allowed me to believe in myself and to have more confidence in believing that I can and I will succeed in getting my degree.

8 thoughts on ““My Supports”

  1. Dionna,
    I have times I feel the same exact way!! Some crazy weeks, I just have no idea how I’m going to finish the assignments for the week, but my family pushes me to finish. We can do it 🙂

    Like

  2. Dionna,
    Your blog certainly comes straight from your heart! It is obvious your strong faith in God and your strong family supports will see you through your quest to attain your Master’s! I would like to add my voice to theirs, encouraging you to keep plugging away. I know how hard and how much of your valuable time this degree quest takes, but you have so much to give that it would be a shame for you to stop now.

    Like you, my husband has been my primary support and I’m not sure how I would go on without him.

    That said, it is nice to be able to share our experiences about this path towards this degree among our peers in this course, because at the heart of it, only those of use who are doing the work–reading, writing, thinking and sharing–really know how hard and demanding it can be.

    Anything worthwhile is not easy to attain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dionna,

    I absolutely love your blog!!!! I feel the sames as you do especially about God!!! You have a great support system. This school work is no joke but keep the faith you can make it Sometimes it is a challenge to figure out if you are completing the assignment correctly but I believe our present instructor was sent by God!!! You said it ” Anything worth while is not easy to attain!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dionna,
    Great blog! It is a blessing to know where all your support comes from. God has always been good too me. I tell people all the time But God!!! It is a blessing to have such a wonderful support system. School and work can be overwhelming . Glad you have someone who pushes you when you want to give up. I am a firm believer, “I can do all things through Jesus Christ which strengtheneth me.”Philippians 4:13

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dionna,

    I too am a Christian and love the lord with all my heart and soul. He is who wakes me up in the morning and helps me get through my day. I always tell people that if you trust in the lord he will make everything alright. I have my husband as a supporter as well. He keeps me motivated and has my back. As far as your challenge and you wanting to quit I am glad your godmother is there to support you to keep going. Continue to push yourself and I know God will see you through.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dionna,

    I am also a Christian and I thank God each day for blessing me with another day and giving me a great support system. My biggest challenge is also school for me. A lot of time I feel like quitting because of my work schedule and because I feel sometimes I can’t do it but I thank God for giving me the strength to keep on moving forward and blessing me with my family and friends that encourage me that I can do it. Thank you for sharing…

    Like

Leave a Reply

