Getting to Know Your International Contacts- Part 3

As of now, I still have not heard anything from any of the international early childhood professionals that I have reached out to at the beginning of this course. I am still patiently waiting because I would love to hear what goes on in the educational area in other countries and how they deal with certain educational situations in their country and schools.

download

I will be discussing three insights that I have gained/learned from the UNESCO’s “Early Childhood Care and Education” webpage about issues related to international early childhood education that relate to my professional goals. The three professional goals that I want to share are being an advocate for children with no voice, to focus on an inclusive classroom, and to provide the best quality services in my class as well my center when it becomes established.

Being an Advocate

advocay2            advocacy

My first professional goal is to become a stronger advocate for children, because often times they go unheard because they are being over looked. Children have the right to speak and when they do not have a voice it is up to the educators to step up and be that voice for them. Looking through the UNESCO website I came across the little article “Learning to Live Together.” This article basically talks about programs being offered to youth of the ages 15-24. This is where the youth are able to have a voice to speak up and out about issues or situations that they may be faced with on a day to day basis. “UNESCO’s work with and for youth is committed to empowering young women and men and helping them to work together to drive social innovation and change, participate fully in the development of their societies, eradicate poverty and inequality, and foster a culture of peace….As such, the UNESCO Youth Programme works to create an enabling environment in which this goal can be achieved, by bringing youth voices to the fore and encouraging young people to come together to take action” (Youth, n.d.). I want to be their voice whether it is getting the best education they deserve, getting medical assistance, finding programs that help with reading or writing to just being there for them.

Inclusive Class

Inclusive_Education_India

My second professional goal is to focus on a more inclusive classroom. As an early childhood educator, I do not have an inclusive class due to the fact that no one in my class as of now requires any special accommodations. As an educator it is important to have an inclusive classroom because, one will never know when there will be a child in the class that will require some assistance in the class. In looking at the UNESCO site I found something rather disturbing about persons with disabilities. “Persons with disabilities experience inequalities in their daily lives, and have fewer opportunities to access a quality education that takes place in an inclusive environment” (People with Disabilities, n.d.). I want to be that educator that will be able to provide an inclusive classroom for every child in the class not matter what the disability may be because I am a strong believer that every child deserves a fair chance of getting an equal opportunity at learning. I want to be able to provide materials, books, and anything else that I would need to ensure that my classroom will be able to accommodate every child in the class. I want to become that professional educator that will go above and beyond the call of duty to provide for my class.

quality_education_infographic    Print      with-africa-for-africa-towards-quality-education-unesdoc-unesco

Quality Educational Program

My last professional goal that I am working towards is establishing my own childcare center or after school program and to have it to be a high quality educational program. In my center I am going to make sure that all of my staff are passionate about what they do and have a love of working with children, make sure that they at least have a BA in Early Childhood Education, and to make sure that the class and program environment is welcoming to every family that may become potential clients in the program. “High quality childcare, particularly for children from disadvantaged backgrounds, promotes motivation, confidence, good cognitive and linguistic development and school readiness” (Quality, n.d.).

References

People with Disabilities | Education | United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.unesco.org/new/en/education/themes/strengthening-education-systems/inclusive-education/people-with-disabilities

Quality | Education | United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.unesco.org/new/en/education/themes/strengthening-education-systems/early-childhood/quality/

Youth | United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.unesco.org/new/en/social-and-human-sciences/themes/youth/

5 thoughts on “Getting to Know Your International Contacts- Part 3

  1. Hi Dionna, I always enjoy reading your blogs very informative and I believe a dedicated inspirational speaker as you children will be easily drawn to you as their advocate and motivator.

    Like

  2. As always very colorful and informative. You are working your resources and are very skilled in finding much needed information to be highlighted. I know that you will have a great center and I know that you will be a great advocate for children with or without disabilities. Inclusion is a top priority in many states now and is somewhat an issue to know who falls under this criteria and who need much more time, attention and a smaller setting than the normal classroom setting. So it is a sticky subject and I hope that they get it right sooner than later.

    Like

  3. Hi Dionna , I always enjoy reading your post very informative. I believe you would be a great inspirational advocate for children because you bring the best out of them.
    Maranda Heads

    Like

  4. Dear Dionna,
    I really found this website full of insights regarding education and care in the early childhood field. I was especially interested in the solutions to issues presented for developing countries. For example, the solution for a lower class size and smaller ratio child- staff would be to train mothers in communities who would be able to help in classrooms. I appreciate your will to help children from the most needy families.
    I wish you success.

    Like

  5. Dionna,
    Great Post! One of my professional goals is also to be a better advocate for children. If we don’t do it as educators; then who will? Love your idea about everyone having a degree , it is so needed in this field.

    Like

Leave a Reply

