My Family Culture

Scenario: A major catastrophe has almost completely devastated the infrastructure of your country. The emergency government has decided that the surviving citizens will be best served if they are evacuated to other countries willing to take refugees. You and your immediate family are among the survivors of this catastrophic event. However, you have absolutely no input into the final destination or in any other evacuation details. You are told that your host country’s culture is completely different from your own, and that you might have to stay there permanently. You are further told that, in addition to one change of clothes, you can only take 3 small items with you. You decide to take three items that you hold dear and that represent your family culture.

Although just having my immediate family with me would be good enough for me because we are all together and can be there to support one another. If I had to choose 3 small things to take with me they would be the Bible, my mother’s obituary, and my son’s molding of his hands and feet.

bible

The Holy Bible– I would take my Bible because where I might end up at may not practice Christianity or read the Bible or believe in the same thing that I believe. Having my word will help me to stay encouraged because we would be able to read the Bible and get strength from trusting and believing in God’s holy word. I am a strong believer in God and having my Bible will help me to keep my faith even in the time of trouble. One thing about the Bible is that everything is going down but the word of God. There is nothing that we would go through that God would not be able to bring us out and see us through.

20160116_140419 (2)    20160116_140432 (2)   20160116_140447 (2)

My Mom’s Obituary– I know this may not seem as something of a culture but it would be something meaningful to me because it is the only picture that I have of my mom before she passed away. I do not have a photo album of my siblings, relatives, my sons and my grandmother. On the inside of her obituary is all the pictures of my siblings, nieces, nephews, aunts, uncles, cousins, great nieces and nephews. I would be able to show my son Quez pictures of my family when we were younger and also what his grandmother and great grandmother looked like. My mom’s obituary is my photo album. Family is all that a person can have sometimes besides their religion.

20160116_140631 (2)  20160116_140609   20160116_140718 (2)

Deavieon’s Memory Box– Deavieon is the name of my son who I lost on April 28, 2008. I was almost 5 months pregnant with my little man before complications began to happen and he gained his wings and ascended on high. It was and still is something hard to deal with. My son is always in my heart and I think about him often. I would bring his memory box because in his box are the only pictures I have of him, his hat, gown, diaper, and moldings of his hands and feet. I would want my son to know that even though he is not here, he is always with me. My son, Marquez often talks about his older brother and wishes that he was here so that they could play together. This is something that I would share with others to get them to dee that even though we may lose loved ones along the way they will forever be in our hearts .

Arrival to Our New Country

If I was told upon my arrival that I could only keep 1 of the 3 personal items, I would feel heartbroken and devastated because all 3 mean so much to me. If I had to choose just one thing to take with me, it would be my son’s memory box. I know picking that over the Bible may seem crazy but not in my eyes. The reason why I chose the memory box is that I could end up somewhere that believes in God and they read from the Holy Bible and I could buy me a Bible to have with me everywhere I go. On the other hand I cannot buy another memory box of my son because they do not make duplicates and that is all that I have of him. I can always buy a Bible but I will never be able to but what was left of my son.

Insight

In doing this exercise it was hard for me to come up with 3 things to take with me because I had to figure out which ones where the most important and meaningful. As far as what I learned about my culture and family culture is that we have a strong faith support system and we believe in God and that reading the Bible is important because it gives us strength and knowledge to live and make it in this world. What I also learned is the importance of family and not materialistic things because those things can be replaced but your family cannot.

2 thoughts on “My Family Culture

  1. DIONNA
    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR POST AND YOU ALMOST HAD ME IN TEARS!!!! WE ARE ON THE SAME PAGE WITH THE WORD OF GOD, THE BIBLE AND THE OUR FAMILY ALBUM. I TOOK A FEW MINUTES TO REALLY THINK ABOUT THOSE THREE SMALL THINGS , TO END UP WITH ONE. I HAVE NEVER SEEN A MEMORY BOX, BUT IT TOUCHED MY HEART. I’M SORRY FOR THE LOST OF YOUR MOTHER AND YOU BABY BOY. I SEE WHY YOUR FAITH IS SO STRONG IN GOD!!! I’M ON YOUR TEAM!!!

    Like

  2. Hi Donna,

    I am so very sorry for the lost of your mother and your son. Such an amazing post and awesome choices for ways to keep the memories and your the essence of your family with you. I too chose to take the Bible, as a Christian the word is so very important us, we share that in common. I am sure your faith and the word of God helped you make through those difficult loses. I admire your courage and strength and love your ending remarks which is so very true ” I also learned is the importance of family and not materialistic things because those things can be replaced but your family cannot.”

    Michell

    Like

Leave a Reply

