Reflecting on Learning

My most passionate hope for my future as an early childhood professional and for the children and families with whom I work or will work is to create an anti-bias learning community that makes sure all children and their families feel welcomed, valued, bigstock_hope_2576413respected and supported. My hope is to also ensure that each family regardless of race, religion, culture, gender, sexual orientation, or economic class is visible and represented throughout the learning environment. I hope that all families feel accepted and can build and maintain a trusting partnership with myself as the educator. Derman-Sparks and Edwards (2010) mentions “As families develop trust that you care about and believe in their child, they come to feel that they, too, “belong” in your early childhood program” (p. 37). In order for children to build the basic trust they need for healthy development, they need to be loved, nurtured, and safe (Derman-Sparks & Edwards, 2010).

As an early childhood professional, my hope is to partner and link updownload with every family I come in contact with.  My hope is to support and advocate for the children and families I will work with on a daily basis.  My hope is to empower and strengthen families especially when they feel discriminated against and invisible to the point where they do not feel
valued and respected. This course along with previous courses has helped me to ponder on the importance of optimistic relationships or partnerships, equity and fairness in early childhood. In the media segment, Edwards mentions that in earning a Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Studies, with a focus on diversity, we have made a commitment to help children become proud in who they are, connected to their families, connected to their communities, open to, eager to embrace people who are different.” (Laureate Education Inc., 2011).

I would like to say thank you to all of my fellow colleagues for a wonderful and informative thank-you-thank-you-thank-you-Zk3gIW-clipartpast 8 weeks. It has been a privilege to be a part of a big movement that will help children to be successful and to reach to their fullest potential. Thank you all for your responses to my blog and also to my discussions. I want to that Dr. Bird-Pickens for all the support and encouraging words on my blogs, discussions, and other assignments. I look forward to being in the last course with some of you if not all. Be blessed and may you continue to excel as we embark on our future courses here at Walden University. Once again thank you to all of you for your continued love and support. .

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on Learning

  1. Dionna,
    I like your hope to “empower and strengthen families especially when they feel discriminated against and invisible to the point where they do not feel valued and respected.” This is a fundamental to our anti-bias work. Everyone needs a person to stand up for when things are not equitable. We should all be proud of our commitment to this journey. Best Wishes on your last course. We are almost there!
    Kimberlee

    Like

  2. Hello, Dionna , I can truly say that you have had a tremendous impact on my life. Reading your blog made me look at things from a different perspective. I truly thank you for interacting and collaborating with me throughout this course study.

    Like

Leave a comment