Time Well Spent

Image result for early childhood  wordle

Three deeply felt learning from this program

  1. I have learned the importance of collaboration within the workplace and community as it relates to working with children and their families. There are several individuals and groups that believe in my passion for working with young children and families. Working with others is a great way to increase my comprehension, skills, and abilities.
  2. I have learned the importance of celebrating and identifying diversity in the early childhood field. Each one of my colleagues brought different sentiments and culture to these courses, just as each family conveys their culture to the early childhood programs. Creating atmospheres and spaces where families feel content, respected, valued and welcome is essential to their child’s progress, the creation of non-biased education.
  3. I have learned the vital value of understanding children and families’ exceptional identities, and how the identities must be fostered and supported in the early childhood education programs.

Long term goal…

One long term goal that I have is to own and operate my own educational learning center. I have always dreamed of opening my own center because I feel like I have more to offer than in the role of the educator. In being owner/director, I will be able to work face to face with the parents, children, and my staff. I will be able to run the center how I want it ran so that everyone will be respected, valued, and welcomed upon entering my center. Although going back to school is not in my near future, I will continue to stay current with the changes in the research as it relates to the early childhood program.

Farewell

First I have to say we did it!!!! Congratulations to us all. I would like to say thank you to Dr. E for being an outstanding instructor and providing feedback to all assignments. It has truly been a pleasure having you as an instructor once more. You have helped make this course go by a lot smoother than I anticipated. When I wanted to quit and give up, you did not let that happen. From the bottom of my heart I thank you for all that you have done. I want to say thank you to all of my colleagues. It has been a journey throughout the courses. We have become one big family as we have supported one another in our discussions and blogs and even through emails. I pray that as we part our separate ways that each of you will continue to be successful as you embark on your future endeavors. Farewell and God bless.

My contact information:

Facebook- Dionna Hill

Email-deemonee1016@gmail.com

dionna

“The better you know yourself, the better you can understand your own responses to the children and families you work with” (Derman-Sparks & Edwards, 2010 p. 21)

Reference

Derman-Sparks, L., & Edwards, J. O. (2010). Anti-bias education for young children and ourselves. Washington, DC: National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).

6 thoughts on “Time Well Spent

  1. I cant’t believe we have made it to the end. I have really enjoyed working with you. I am glad that you was able to share ideas with me and I hope my ideas was as helpful as yours was to me. I pray God riches blessing upon you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dionna,

    I agree we had an excellent professor for this course. Although I struggled, she was right there with suggestions and encouragement. Thanks for all your comments and ideas. Congratulations !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dionna,

    Well let me say, “Thank you for not giving up”. If you gave up then were would your potential families go for quality child care? You’ve done the easy part. You have completed your Masters degree. Now comes the heavy lifting, starting and maintaining a child care center but I believe you can do it! Good luck!!

    Sheymirra

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy graduation Dionna! You would make a wonderful center director, with your advocacy and public policy background you will be able to stand up for the needs of children and families in your area! Remember your own advice, opening a center will be hard but as long as you don’t give up your dream will become a reality. The more contacts you make and networking you do, the easier the journey will be together.
    Best of luck!
    Dianna

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Dionna,
    I always enjoyed reading your blogs and your creativity you use for your blogs. It was a pleasure working with you and receiving positive feedbacks from discussions, and blogs. I believe children will admire your motivations and positive influences of your presence as their director. I wish you nothing but the best in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Dionna – we did it, we really did it!! 🙂 Congrats to you! I am like you in that I am taking away such a deeper lens of culture, recognizing children, families, and professionals for the diverse people they are. Diversity should be celebrated! I hope that you are able to open the program of your dreams so that you can be in charge of those important attitudes and mindsets. You will make a difference! 🙂

    All the best – I have enjoyed the journey with you!
    Brooke

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment